Rookie Boys 

Forest Park 19
Northlake 8

Forest Park was down 6-5, but then put their hitting shoes on. The boys scored the maximum amount of runs in both the fourth and fifth innings, and four runs in the sixth, to seal the victory. Those innings were lead off by Joey Rodriguez who had two doubles and a single in the game. He was driven in by other heavy hitters – Isaiah Fuller (three hits), Frank Mott (three runs scored), Josh Hill (four hits), and Jack Lazzara (three hits).

This was Forest Park’s first victory in the tournament in two years. 

Forest Park 20

Forest Park was unstoppable in this shortened, four-inning game. Soaring after the morning victory, the Forest Park boys were focused through the coaching of Glenn Garlisch, Pat Falbo, Paul Canada, and Mark Gordon. For this game, 10 of the 11 hitters reached base and scored. Forest Park only recorded five outs in the entire game. Solid hitting by Jake Gordon, Ryan Mintz, and James Hobson were part of an entire team effort. 

Westdale 18
Forest Park 11

Playing last year’s champion in hostile territory, Forest Park came out slugging to prove they were no fluke. In the first inning, each of the first six batters – Frank Mott, Josh Hill, James Hobson, Jack Lazzara, Ryan Mintz and Nick Garlisch – reached base, with five scoring. However, Westdale was up to the task and responded with 10 runs over the next three innings to take a commanding lead. Forest Park did not give up, as they attacked the ball in the final inning before solid defense by Westdale made the difference. 

Forest Park 17
Franklin Park 16

For the first time in two years, Forest Park played its way into the single elimination portion of the tournament. Earning the second seed with a 3-1 record, they faced the Franklin Park Vipers in what would begin as a laugher, and end in nail biting, dramatic fashion.

Forest Park jumped out to an 11-0 lead, and thought they had the game in hand. Strong hitting early by Josh Hill, Charlie Hoenhe, Frank Mott and James Hobson had the team feeling confident. But the Vipers would take the lead in the top of the sixth with a nine run inning. With Forest Park down 16-14, the team had one last chance to win in the bottom half of the inning. The Franklin Park crowd was chanting ‘defense’, and fans stood by the left field fence as the bleachers were full. The bottom half of the sixth led off with a Nick Garlisch double. He would score on a Joey Rodriguez single, leaving Forest Park one run down. Next up was Jeremiah Canada, the second baseman. With a runner on first, and down a run, Jeremiah laced the second pitch he saw over the left field fence for a walk-off two run homerun.

Forest Park 21
Elmhurst Orange 10

Forest Park rebounded nicely after the morning defeat to beat the Elmhurst Orange team in five innings. Frank Mott and Ryan Mintz lead the way with three hits and three runs apiece. Extra base hits from Jack Lazzara, James Hobson, Nick Garlisch and Jack Doss also paced the way for a solid victory.

Read next week’s Review for the conclusion of the Westdale tournament as Forest Park strives to reach the championship game.

Junior Boys

Forest Park 25
Westchester 0

Forest Park defeated Westchester 25-0 behind Danny Barron’s second no-hitter of the year and a barrage of hits coming from Andrew Doss, Eric LeCoure, Danny Barron, David Johnsen, Brian Powers and Eric Lowry.

The final regular season game of the year had Forest Park defeating Berkley by the score of 8-3 to win the Westchester Pony regular season title with a record of 19-2 overall.

The 2008 Jr. Boys tournament team started its post-season run with a four-day tournament at Nazareth Academy HS. In this tournament, the boys won their first game 8-0 against LaGrange Park. In their second game of the day, they defeated the Scorpions of Orland Park by the score of 6-5, which moved them to the championship game on Sunday.

Forest Park was matched up against the Lawndale Crush in a well-pitched game by both teams. Behind timely hitting by Forest Park and exceptional defense at every position, Forest Park prevailed 3-2 in nine innings to win the Nazareth tournament for the first time.

Congratulations to Danny Barron, Eric LeCoure, Brian Powers, David Johnsen, Eric Lowry, Andrew Doss, Christopher Dunaway, Connor Hudson, Jack Marino, Corey Sansone, Greg Allen and Brandon Buchanon.