Proviso Township High School District 209 and Sen. Kimberly Lightford, D-Maywood, honored 24 students from Proviso Math and Science Academy as Illinois State Scholars last week at the joint school board-Financial Oversight Panel meeting at PMSA in Forest Park.

The 24 seniors were among 28 District 209 seniors recognized as state scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission. 

“I commend these 24 seniors for their outstanding commitment to their education,” said Dr. Bessie Karvelas, principal at PMSA, in a recent D 209 press release. “These students have dedicated themselves to their studies and have embraced the rigor of our curricula that is associated with academia.” 

The Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top 10 percent of high school seniors among 671 different high schools across the state, according to the ISAC.

Scholar selection is based on SAT, ACT or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, or class rank at the end of the junior year.

High school guidance counselors work with the ISAC to determine the winners. 

“The students who have been selected as State Scholars are among the best and brightest,” said Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart, superintendent for D209, in a recent press release. “They have worked hard for their achievement and we commend them for their accomplishments.”

    They include Janel Avila, Kawanis Bowers, Jayla Brown, Hailey Caffie, Camilo Carrasco, Olivia Cole, Casey Creed, Kristina Crespo, Brianna Earskine, Daniel Minguez, Jacob Sierra, Khushi Suri, Alex Tam, Jonah Victorson, Janette Zaragoza, Karlan Kuhr, Nataly Martinez, Fabricio Garcia, Shannon Hegarty, Emmanuel Hernandez, Ruslan Horechko, Azher Jaweed, Nadia Love and David Dowdle.

 Nicholas Samuel