Claudia Medina, Nathan "Ned" Wagner and Theresa Kelly speak to a crowd at Doc Ryan's before the April 2017 election. (William Camargo/ Staff Photographer)

During a special meeting on April 30, the Proviso Township High Schools District 209 Board of Education elected a new slate of board officers, district officials confirmed on May 2.

Board member Ned Wagner was elected to replace Theresa Kelly as board president; Sam Valtierrez was elected to replace Amanda Grant as board vice president; and Grant was elected to replace Claudia Medina as board secretary.

Kelly had been board president since last April, when board members Rodney Alexander, Della Patterson, Grant and Valtierrez were all elected on the Proviso Together ticket — the very same ticket on which Wagner and Medina were elected to their first terms, and on which board veteran Kelly was reelected to another term.

This had been Kelly’s third time serving as board president. In 2016, Kelly was ousted as board president weeks after former board members voted to change board policy to limit the term of the board president from two years to one year, angering many residents who thought the move was politically motivated.

After the April 2017 election gave Proviso Together a seven-member supermajority, Kelly was voted board president again.

District 209 officials did not provide the breakdown of Monday’s vote for new officers.


One reply on “D209 selects new board officers”