The Forest Park Cub Scout Pack 109 would like to express their gratitude to the many people who donated their time, resources and space for the Cub Scout Pinewood Derby 2014.

Pinewood derby cars reached speeds over 200 miles per hour this past Saturday. This was possible because of two major additions to our Pinewood Derby, the electronic timer and the new derby track. Pack 109 is extremely grateful to the Kiwanis of Forest Park who donated the resources to purchase our electronic timer to judge the race. Our new track was financed by Bentron Financial Group and designed and built by Jim Flanagan, Tim Flanagan and Tom Flanagan. 

The Park District of Forest Park, Forest Park Community Center, Chicago School of Professional Carpenters and the Altenheim all generously shared space with our Pack for the workshops to prepare for the derby and the derby itself, as well as space to build the track. Several volunteers went above and beyond to help scouts build cars including Carl Lukowski, Keith Lukowski, Bill Lyons, Mike O’Connor, Robin Peake, and Jennie Wagner.

Scouts from first through fifth grade built cars from blocks of pine wood with adult partners to compete in speed and design. Cub Scouts build confidence while learning design, basic engineering and physics to create their personal derby cars. 

In addition Pack 109 emphasized elements of pride, planning and sportsmanship throughout the events. Pack 109 recognized Bora Demirtas, Wolf Scout, with Best Craftsmanship, Toby Maxham, Bear Scout, with Coolest Car, Jonathan Ford, Webelos I Scout, with the Funniest Car, Yousif Elshareif, Wolf Scout, with Kid’s Choice Award and Kevin Winnicki, Wolf Scout, with Most Scout Pride. The Pinewood Derby Pack speed leaders were: 1st Place- Brandon Arnold, Tiger Den; 2nd Place- Henry Wagner, Webelos II; and 3rd Place-Nate Edsell, Bear Den. Speed leaders by den included: Tigers- Brandon Arnold, Logan Wagner, and Devin Fitzgerald; Wolf: Kevin Winnicki, Daniel Lyons and Milo Gittings; Bear Den: Nate Edsell, Toby Maxham and Ben Edsell; Webelos I Den: Ian O’Connor, Jonathan Ford and Kyle Cotton; and Webelos II Den: Henry Wagner, Thomas Winnicki, and Jah Jah Alleyene.

Congratulations to all the Scouts and Pack families for an outstanding Pinewood Derby.

Jill Wagner 

Pack Committee Chairperson

One reply on “Pinewood Derby time again”