Thirty-one students from Proviso Township High Schools District 209 have been recognized by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) as 2021-22 State Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement. The designation of the 2021-22 school year refers to the year the students will begin postsecondary education.

Several factors play into the formula used to determine which students are awarded as State Scholars, including ACT and SAT performance and either sixth semester class rank (from schools that rank) or the student’s unweighted GPA (from schools that do not rank).

According to the ISAC, students receiving the award have performed in the top half of their high school class at the end of the third semester prior to graduation and/or scored at or above the 95th percentile on the ACT or SAT.

State Scholars from D209 are listed below.

Proviso East High School

Karen Antunez

Cynthia Martinez

Anthony Rojas

Destiny Singleton

Proviso West High School

Deyonna Givens

Skyy Guerra

Jacqueline Moreno

Asael Rios

Natalie Sanchez

Jayce Silmon

Proviso Math & Science Academy

Andrew Abeldano

Fernanda Aguirre

Jaydon Chalichemala

Justin Chalichemala

Jose Contreras

Yirenny Cordero

Hugo Covarrubias

Jose Guerrero

Sophia Haraus

Alexis Herrera

Josephine Kryczka

Hannah Liotta

Eli Lopez

Terrene McKennie

Saba Mohiuddin

Eduardo O’Campo

Maia Paderon

Miguel Saucedo

Miles Smith

Mario Tabares

Abigail Yi