All of us at 209 Scholarships are elated to share that our guests, sponsors and chefs helped us raise $20,000 for scholarships for graduates of Proviso East, Proviso West and Proviso Math and Science Academy. We will use these funds for more scholarships in 2024, both for new graduates and to support previous awardees. 

We want to recognize our business and organization sponsors, chefs and beverage sponsors so that you can patronize them and relive the same great experience of good food, drink and community we experienced at Great Chefs: Appetite for Knowledge. 

Before we get to them, we want to ensure that we recognize the volunteers who made this event happen:

Event Committee Volunteers (non-board): 

Auction Chair Extraordinaire Kristen Koszlowski-Lyons and Debra Vines 

Volunteer Celebrity Bartenders:

Proviso West teacher and activist Carissa Gillespie, Bobby Hernandez,  

Maywood Trustee Isaiah Brandon,  Forest Park Commissioner Maria Maxham,   

Forest Park Commissioner Jessica Voogd, Westchester Trustee Victoria Vann  

Thank you to our emcee Randall McFarland of Best of Proviso Township, joined by Felix Giron, Constituent Outreach Associate for Representative Norma Hernandez, who interviewed former awardee and Proviso East graduate Raneen ElBarbarawi and longtime champion of Proviso District 209 Jeremy Horn. 

Business and organization sponsors

Gillian Baker Team/Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, Play It Again Sports, Best of Proviso Township, Leornard Branding+Design, State Farm Mark Hanson, Real Foods Collective

Participating chefs

Azucar Rococo, Bailey’s Catering, Fiore Pizzeria & Bakery, Habrae Thai & Café, N Rebozo, Zesty Catering 

Beverage sponsors

Catan Pisco, Funkytown Brewery, Andrea and Doug Marello

Finally, thank you to The Matrix Jazz Band and Sheet Metal Worker’s Local 73.

We look forward to sharing more with you about youth who are graduating from Proviso Township District 209 and how your contributions are making a difference. 

209 Scholarship Board of Directors

Michelle Woehrle, President
Gwendalyn Carver, Vice President

Kenneth Snyder, Secretary
Dominic Cianciolo, Treasurer

Directors: April Baker, Connie Brown,
Kevin Leonard and Eileen Olivier